Skip to main content

Our History

We often get asked, “Why are you called ‘St. Mary’s Bank’ if you’re a credit union?” That’s a great question. We're thrilled to showcase the defining moments and key figures that led to our unique name.
In 1908, Monsignor Pierre Hevey, Pastor of Sainte-Marie’s parish in Manchester, New Hampshire, organized what was soon to be known as the first credit union. The goal was to help the primarily Franco-American mill workers save and borrow money. On November 24, 1908 we officially opened our doors in Manchester, New Hampshire as “La Caisse Populaire, Ste-Marie” (The People’s Bank) and became the first credit union in the nation. In April 1909, the New Hampshire Senate and House of Representatives approved a Charter to incorporate under the name of St. Mary’s Cooperative Credit Association. Transactions were conducted at the home of Joseph Boivin, the credit union’s first president, on Notre Dame Avenue. An all-volunteer staff assisted with daily activities. The safe was a used metal box purchased from Manchester’s French daily newspaper, L’Avenir National. Operating conditions were basic, but it was the mission that mattered.

St. Mary’s Bank made it possible for Manchester’s immigrants to achieve the better quality of life they had envisioned. For just $5, the price of one share of capital stock, anyone in the community could become a member. Savings were accepted from workers, families, and children. The accumulated savings were, in turn, lent to members to purchase and build homes, establish neighborhood businesses, and meet the personal financial needs of the community.

St. Mary’s Bank prospered. The credit union moved into its own offices in 1913 and hired its first paid, full-time manager in 1916. In 1917, the state legislature approved a bill changing the name from “St. Mary’s Cooperative Credit Association” to “La Caisse Populaire, Ste-Marie”. And, by 1923, the credit union’s assets exceeded $1 million. In 1925, an amended charter allowed the institution to be called either “La Caisse Populaire, Ste-Marie,” or “St. Mary’s Bank.”

In 1930, St. Mary’s Bank moved into “The Marble Building,” a landmark in the center of what was then the commercial heart of Manchester’s West Side. As the credit union expanded, so did its menu of traditional products and services. Checking accounts, Christmas Club accounts, safe deposit boxes and a wider variety of loans became available. By the mid 1950’s, St. Mary’s was serving several thousand members and had $6 million in assets. In 1970, St. Mary’s Bank built and moved into its present main office at McGregor Street in Manchester.

Over the years, St. Mary’s Bank has helped members through difficult times, including the Great Depression and the bankruptcy of Amoskeag Manufacturing Company in 1935. When thousands of banks failed during the Great Depression, St. Mary’s Bank remained open, even during the “Bank Holiday” of 1933, when President Roosevelt closed all banks nationwide. St. Mary’s Bank also survived the economic disruptions of the early 1990’s, which saw the failure of many familiar Manchester banks.

In 2008, St. Mary’s Bank celebrated 100 years of service to the people of New Hampshire. Today, the credit union is a full-service financial institution serving a diverse population. It is as welcoming to new immigrants today as it was to the French Canadian population at the turn of the last century. Whether it is meeting basic financial needs through traditional banking services, providing sophisticated online services, or helping with long range financial planning, St. Mary’s serves individuals, families, and businesses. St. Mary’s Bank has come a long way from its early operations in the Boivin home; our fundamental principles remain the same. It costs no more to belong to St. Mary’s Bank now than it did in 1908. For just $5, anyone can become a member, by purchasing one share of capital stock.

In 2013, St. Mary's Bank was proud to continue its longstanding relationship with the west side of Manchester by building and opening a 29,000 square foot, full-service, branch and headquarters at 200 McGregor St. This modern building replaced the “Marble Building”, which was originally built in 1970, in the same historic location. The state-of-the-art facility will continue to serve the financial needs of the local community.

Every business decision is still made in the best interest of members, and making the community a better place to live is paramount. We have only deepened our commitment to delivering world-class financial products at a fair price, and the emphasis on personal service has never been greater. As we move forward, we will look for new ways to serve our members and our communities, ever mindful of our rich history.